Sweeney Todd | ENO | London Coliseum | 30th Mar – 12th April 2015

Lonny Price’s production of Stephen Sondheim and Hugh Wheeler’s Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street, will star Bryn Terfel, Emma Thompson and Philip Quast in the first production in a new partnership between English National Opera (ENO) and the GradeLinnit Company.

New York PhilharmonicSet in Victorian London, Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street tells the story of the eponymous barber who seeks vengeance on what he sees as a merciless world by murdering his customers and, with the help of his landlady, the romantically inclined Mrs. Lovett, bakes their bodies into meat pies, which are fed to London’s avid and unknowing populace. Sondheim’s score pays homage to the music of Hollywood composer Bernard Herrmann. Highlights include “The Ballad of Sweeney Todd,” “Not While I’m Around,” “A Little Priest,” and “Pretty Women.” Multi

Olivier-award winning Philip Quast (Sunday in the Park with George, Les Miserables) will play Judge Turpin alongside Bryn Terfel’s Sweeney Todd and Emma Thompson’s Mrs Lovatt.

Joining them are are Matthew Seadon-Young as Anthony Hope, Katie Hall as Johanna Barker, Philip Quast as Judge Turpin, Jack North as Tobias Ragg, Alex Gaumond as Beadle Bamford, Rosalie Craig as Beggar Woman and John Owen-Jones as Pirelli.

The strictly limited run of 13 performances at ENO’s London Coliseum begins on 30 March 2015

The ENO orchestra, conducted by David Charles Abell, will appear on stage with the cast in this semi-staged production which was originally produced by the New York Philharmonic at Lincoln Center earlier this year, with orchestrations by Jonathan Tunick.

Philip Quast 2


 English National Opera – Official Website


Sweeney Todd – Bryn Terfel
Mrs Lovatt – Emma Thompson
Judge Turpin – Philip Quast
Anthony Hope – Matthew Seadon-Young
Johanna Barker – Katie Hall
Tobias Ragg – Jack North
Beadle Bamford – Alex Gaumond
Beggar Woman – Rosalie Craig
Pirelli – John Owen-Jones

Ensemble members are Madeleine Harland, Lydia Gerrard, Leah Penston, Frankie Jenna, Verity Quade, Susannah Van den Berg, Anna O’Byrne, Molly Lynch, Emily Bull, Gaia Wise, Alexandra Grierson, Vicki Lee Taylor, Katie Kerr, Ffion Emyr, Nancy Hill, Edd Campbell Bird, Alastair Brookshaw, Kane Oliver Parry, Scott Cripps, John Barr, Aaron Lee Lambert, Gary Tushaw, Ashley Robinson, Jeff Nicholson, Joseph Prouse, Gavin James, Marc Akinfolarin, Jacob Chapman, Ian Caddick and Adam Vaughan.


Conducter – David Charles Abell





Booking Information          

English National Opera, London Coliseum, St Martin’s Lane, London WC2N 4ES

30 March 2015 – 12 April 2015



Monday 30 March at 7.30pm
Tuesday 31 March at 7.30pm
Wednesday 1 April at 7.30pm
Thursday 2 April at 7.30pm
Saturday 4 April at 2.30pm
Saturday 4 April at 7.30pm
Sunday 5 April at 3.00pm
Tuesday 7 April at 7.30pm
Wednesday 8 April at 7.30pm
Thursday 9 April at 7.30pm
Friday 10 April at 7.30pm
Saturday 11 April at 2.30pm
Saturday 11 April at 7.30pm
Sunday 12 April at 3.00pm



£10 – £125.00, plus booking fee (no booking fee in person at Box Office)

300 seats available at £10 for every performance.

Day seats:  50 seats across the house for every performance will be released at the Box Office for purchase in person on the day of performance at 10am


Box Office

020 7845 9300


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.