The Crucible | Tour Dates

Sell A Door Theatre Company and the Queen’s Theatre Hornchurch,
in association with Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg present:

The Crucible
By Arthur Miller

 

Arthur Miller’s classic American drama, The Crucible, is coming to theatres in the UK and Luxembourg in a new production starring Charlie Condou [Coronation Street], as the witch-hunter, Reverend Hale, this new  production of an American classic is directed by Douglas Rintoul, Artistic Director of the  Queen’s Theatre, Hornchurch, and takes a Brechtian look at this violent story of frail reason in the face of hysteria. Following Rintoul’s recent hits at The Queen’s, Made in Dagenham and Much Ado About Nothing, this atmospheric staging of The Crucible promises the same level of
quality and acclaim.

 

One of the twentieth century’s landmark plays, Arthur Miller’s The Crucible stands as both a historical record and a political parable for our times. The unrelenting witchhunt and violence, an allegory of the brutal McCarthyism of American politics in the 1950’s, resonates with an unnerving clarity now in a post-Brexit UK where violent mob mentality and race-driven hate crimes are on the rise.

charlie-condou

Charlie Condou will star as Rev. Hale

“The Crucible was the first production I ever witnessed on stage; and resonates today as it did when it first met an audience as a fundamentally important piece of American theatre that calls into question our highest beliefs and morals. After our summer and autumn season of high flying musicals, it’s a chilling, powerful play that is punching off our 2017 season of work” David Hutchinson – Artistic Director of Sell a Door Theatre Company.

The Crucible is co-produced by the award-winning Sell A Door Theatre Company and The Queen’s Theatre Hornchurch in association with Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg.

Sell a Door are a leading producer of mid and large-scale productions including recent successful UK tours of The History Boys, Sunset Song, Little Shop of Horrors, Footloose, and American Idiot.

2017 Tour

 

Friday 17th February – Saturday 11th March
HORNCHURCH Queen’s Theatre
Box Office www.queens-theatre.co.uk | 01708 443333

 

Tuesday 14th March – Saturday 18th March
DARTFORD Orchard Theatre
Box Office www.orchardtheatre.co.uk | 01322 220000

 

Monday 20th March – Saturday 25th March
CHELTENHAM Everyman Theatre
Box Office www.everymantheatre.org.uk | 01242 572573

 

Tuesday 28th March – Saturday 1st April
ABERDEEN His Majesty’s Theatre
Box Office His Majesty’s Theatre | 01224 641122

 

Thursday 6th April – Saturday 8th April
LUXEMBOURG Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg
Box Office www.theatres.lu

 

Tuesday 11th April – Saturday 15th April
RICHMOND Theatre
Box Office www.atgtickets.com/venues/richmond-theatre | 0870 060 6651

 

Monday 24th April – Saturday 29th April
BRIGHTON Theatre Royal
Box Office www.atgtickets.com/venues/theatre-royal-brighton | 0844 871 7650

 

Monday 8th May – Saturday 13th April
MANCHESTER Opera House
Box Office www.atgtickets.com/venues/opera-house-manchester | 0844 871 7650

 

Tuesday 23rd May – Saturday 27th May
CARDIFF New Theatre
Box Office www.newtheatrecardiff.co.uk | 029 2087 8889

 

Monday 5th June- Saturday 10th June
BIRMINGHAM New Alexandra Theatre
Box Office New Alexandra Theatre | 0844 871 3011

 

Monday 12th June – Saturday 17th June
GLASGOW Theatre Royal
Box Office www.atgtickets.com/venues/theatre-royal-glasgow | 0844 871 7647

 

Share