Amanda Gordon | Alice in Winterland | Interview

Lewis Carroll’s famous stories are retold in a spectacular new stage adaptation called Alice in Winterland to be performed at the Rose Theatre in Kingston this festive season. Adapted and directed by Ciaran McConville and featuring gorgeous music and strikingly imaginative designs, puppetry and projections, Alice in Winterland is brought to life on the Rose stage by a talented cast of professional actors alongside members of the Rose Youth Theatre.

Amanda Gordon from New Haven in Sussex and will be spending Christmas in Kingston as she plays the Cheshire Cat as well as Alice’s Mother, here she answers questions about the production and her particular roles.

Q&A with Amanda Gordon

 

What made you keen to join the cast of Alice in Winterland?

It’s an interesting and exciting re-imagining of the Alice books for the 21st century. I wanted to work with the terrific creative team and I love working with youth companies.

 

What is Alice in Winterland about?

A girl finding herself through adversity. How to discover the warrior within!

 

Tell us a bit about your characters and what are you enjoying most?

I play Alice’s mother and the Cheshire Cat. An unusual doubling, but both are there to help Alice along her own path. Cheshire Cat is a lot of fun, because she has her own rules and agenda. Don’t all cats?!

 

What particular challenges does this role present to you as an actor?

Finding the nuances and aspects of life as mother, mirrored in the Cheshire Cat within the insane world of Wonderland. Floating! Oh and losing my head!

 

Alice in Winterland, is based on Lewis Carroll’s timeless books, Alice Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass. Why do you think these characters have such an enduring appeal?

The characters are bonkers and the chance for reinterpretation is endless.

 

The production sees a professional cast and a youth company perform together. What has it been like working alongside Rose Youth Company?

The Rose Youth Company are a delight to work with. They are a group of talented, funny and bright young actors and I am loving every minute of it. They are growing in confidence all the time and it’s fantastic to see. I don’t get to act with all of them, unfortunately, but my Alices are brilliant, as are my cat movement chorus, who all play other parts…

 

Why do you think people should come and see Alice in Winterland?

AIW is an exciting and epic show. The story is brilliant. It is a touching and engaging action adventure, featuring a host of magnumptious creatures and beamish music, not to be missed!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Alice In Winterland will be at Rose Theatre Kingston from Thu 7 Dec – Sun 7 Jan. Tickets cost from £15 and are available online, rosetheatrekingston.org, by phone, 020 8174 0090, or from the Box Office

Listings

Thu 7 Dec: 6pm  Win Tickets!
Fri 8 Dec: 6pm
Sat 9 Dec: 6pm
Tue 12 Dec: 6pm
Wed 13 Dec: 6pm
Thu 14 Dec: 6pm
Fri 15 Dec: 7pm
Sat 16 Dec: 11am, 5.30pm (audio described performance)
Sun 17 Dec: 11am, 5.30pm
Wed 20 Dec: 5.30pm
Thu 21 Dec: 5.30pm
Fri 22 Dec: 11am, 5.30pm
Sat 23 Dec: 11am, 5.30pm
Sun 24 Dec: 11am, 4pm
Tue 26 Dec:1.30pm, 6pm
Wed 27 Dec: 11am, 5.30pm
Thu 28 Dec: 11am, 5.30pm
Fri 29 Dec: 11am, 5.30pm
Sat 30 Dec: 11am, 5.30pm
Sun 31 Dec: 11am, 5.30pm
Tue 2 Jan: 11am, 5.30pm
Thu 4 Jan: 1.30pm (relaxed performance), 6.30pm
Fri 5 Jan: 6.30pm
Sat 6 Jan: 11am, 5.30pm
Sun 7 Jan: 11am, 5.30pm (signed performance)

WIN TICKETS TO THE OPENING NIGHT OF ALICE IN WINTERLAND
Thurs 7 December 6pm.
More details very soon.

Share